Missouri Insurance and Accident Information
In Missouri, you have to ensure each vehicle prior to titling and registration. That is why, before submitting your application, we recommend reviewing the Insurance and Accident Information laws. It would assist you in staying up to date on requirements and defending your rights in the event of an accident.
As previously stated, each vehicle must have an insurance certificate. In addition, the driver has to maintain some form of motor vehicle liability. This allows you to avoid payment losses if you ever get into a car crash or something similar.
As a result, the minimum level of coverage required by state law is $25,000 for bodily harm per person and $50,000 for bodily injuries per casualty.
In terms of property damage, you must have a minimum of $25,000 per casualty.
Nonresidents have to maintain surety that meets their state's requirements. If a law enforcement officer requests proof and you are unable to provide it, the officer may issue you a ticket. Thus, the DOT recommends having proof in your car all the time. In case you fail to provide the documents, you may face fines and penalties. However, there are also other possible cases:
The court may submit a conviction and the DOT will assess you on four points. (FYI, in case you gave 8 points within 18 months, you will lose your driver’s permit).
Secondly, the court may make a supervision order and monitor you.
And, finally, you may get a tribunal order and the permit suspension.
If you don’t agree with the tribunal’s decision you can submit a hearing request. The time court gets the request, your permit wouldn’t be withdrawn until the hearing. The hearing request can be mailed to:
Administrative Hearing Section
301 West High Street - Room 470
PO Box 3500
Jefferson City MO 65105-3500
The DOT in Missouri accepts the following types of insurance:
A certificate of surety cover
Certificate of deposit of money
A certificate of self-insurance
Suspension and Reinstatement
If you have been suspended or your license has been revoked due to surety bond difficulties, you have three suspension options for reinstatement.
So, if you've been detected for the first time, all you have to do is pay a $20 reinstatement fee and provide evidence. The period for the initial suspension is 0 days.
If you are caught a second time, you have to wait three months and pay $200 in addition to the proof documents. The third time is subject to a year’s wait and a $400 charge.
You should apply to the Department of Revenue within three years to obtain the proof documentation. If you fail to keep the proof documents, the Driver License Bureau will suspend your driver’s permit and/or Missouri license plates again.
Have you had a car crash or another accident? The first thing you have to do is to file a report and wait at the place until the police arrive.
However, not all incidents necessitate the filing of a report. First and foremost, the damage should exceed $500. Second, you must demonstrate that the casualty was caused by an uninsured motorist. In fact, the crash occurred less than a year ago. And of course, you have to fill the report if someone was damaged or killed.
However, if the crash did not cause $500 and there was an insured motorist you are allowed to file it.
The reports can be taken to the company your car was insured in, any nearest DMV office, or at least the Motor Vehicle website. Mailing is also possible. The address is specified at the end of the article.
301 West High Street - Room 470