Whenever the police stop and caught you driving under influence you may face penalties, fines, and even license suspension.
The state criminal law defines that if a person was caught DUI the court tickets you and sends a copy to the department. Thus, the DMV the appropriate points are imposed on your driver’s record. So, your privilege may be suspended or revoked as a result of the point assessment.
DUI can bring to penalty: BAC Limits
In Missouri, a driver's permit is suspended if the blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent. In this case, the DOT doesn’t require any additional evidence.
If you are under 21, this law doesn’t apply to you. You are to follow a "zero tolerance" law.
That is, anyone under the legal drinking age of 21 in Missouri is subject to a 0.02 percent BAC level.
Most people in Missouri assume that there is only one number that defines a driver as intoxicated. This is not true. Instead, there are various types of fines, each with its definition of what constitutes inebriated driving. Let’s check them out.
Non-Commercial Vehicle Drivers
Individuals over the age of 21, regardless of country, gender, or ethnicity, must abide by state law. The latter stipulates that the blood alcohol level must not be higher than 0.08 percent. That is, in Missouri, you are legally intoxicated if spirits account for more than 8% of your blood volume.
Commercial Vehicle Drivers
In MO, those motorists who operate tractor-trailers, semis, 18-wheelers, and even school buses are subject to a different level of legal intoxication. They are considered legally drunk if their blood alcohol content is 0.04 or above.
Under 21 or "Zero Tolerance"
If you are under 21 and operate a car or motorcycle you don’t even have a right to drink. And here, the law is very strict. Those, who are caught operating a car under influence and whose BAC hits more than 0.02% can be ticketed and even lose their permission.
Criminal and Administrative Penalties
The penalties for DWI vary depending on the BAC level as well as previous offenses. A 90-day suspension is imposed for the first conviction. The lowest term is 5 days in jail, and the maximum sentence is 6 months. The fine can exceed up to $500.
If you have multiple alcohol and driving-related offenses, you will be sentenced to extra prison time. For a prior conviction, a minimum of 10 days must be served. If you commit repeated violations, your permit could be suspended for five years.
For three or more violations, the minimum punishment is 60 days. Finally, the minimum sentence for four or more violations is two years in prison.
What concerns administrative penalties, people who are convicted of a DWI have their privileges automatically suspended or withdrawn. A first-time DWI conviction will result in a 90-day license suspension.
Fortunately, you may be qualified for an immediate "limited driving privilege" that allows you to drive for 90 days with the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device.
A second DWI will usually result in one-year permit revocation. If you get two DWIs in five years, you could lose your license for five years. If you are convicted of three or more alcohol or drug-related driving offenses, your license will be revoked for ten years.
If you don’t agree with the conviction, you can apply for a court hearing. The deadline for the application is 15 days after you get the ticket. Generally, The Department of Revenue will hold a hearing after scheduling an appropriate date.
If the administrative hearing upholds the suspension or revocation, you may petition the circuit court for additional review.